Flag
Maryland State Law Library Home Page

Table of Contents

Cemeteries

Data Sources

Death Certificates

Law and Genealogy

Memorials

Links

Obituaries

Wills




Legal Self Help from the Maryland's Peoples Law Library
People's Law Library
Sponsored by
the Maryland State Law Library

Genealogy Guide:

Records of Wills and Related Materials

I. Maryland Generally

ABSTRACTS OF MARYLAND WILL BOOK 38
View catalog record

INDEX OF MARYLAND COLONIAL WILLS, 1634-1777, IN THE HALL OF RECORDS, ANNAPOLIS, MD.
View catalog record

MAGRUDER'S MARYLAND COLONIAL ABSTRACTS; WILLS, ACCOUNTS AND INVENTORIES
View catalog record

MAGRUDER'S MARYLAND COLONIAL ABSTRACTS: WILLS, ACCOUNTS, AND INVENTORIES, 1772-1777
View catalog record

THE MARYLAND CALENDAR OF WILLS
View catalog record

OLD MARYLAND FAMILIES: A COLLECTION OF CHARTS COMPILED FROM PUBLIC RECORDS, WILLS, FAMILY BIBLES, TOMB INSCRIPTIONS, AND OTHER ORIGINAL SOURCES
View catalog record

II. Maryland, County Specific

A. Allegany County

MARYLAND, INDEX TO THE WILLS OF: ALLEGANY COUNTY, 1784-1960
View catalog record

B. Anne Arundel County

ANNE ARUNDEL CO., MARYLAND, WILLS INDEX, 1777-1918
View catalog record

GENERAL INDEX OF WILLS OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY
View catalog record View on-line in the library only

HEIRS & ORPHANS: ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY, MD. DISTRIBUTIONS, 1788-1838
View catalog record

INDEX TO ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY, MARYLAND WILLS, 1650-1777
View catalog record

C. Baltimore County

INDEX TO BALTIMORE COUNTY, MARYLAND, WILLS, 1659-1850
View catalog record

INDEX TO BALTIMORE COUNTY, MARYLAND, WILLS, 1660-1777
View catalog record

D. Calvert County

CALVERT COUNTY, MARYLAND WILLS, 1654-1700
View catalog record

INDEX TO CALVERT COUNTY, MARYLAND, WILLS, 1700-1777; AND, AN INDEX TO WILLS OF CALVERT COUNTY, MARYLAND, WILLS, 1654-1700
View catalog record

E. Caroline County

HEIRS AND LEGATEES OF CAROLINE COUNTY: GENEALOGICAL EXTRACTS FROM THE LAND COMMISSION RECORDS (1774-1895) AND COUNTY CHANCERY COURT RECORDS (1815-1863)
View catalog record

F. Carroll County

CARROLL COUNTY, MARYLAND INDEX TO WILLS AND ADMINISTRATIONS, 1837-1899
View catalog record

G. Cecil County

INDEX FOR CECIL COUNTY, MARYLAND WILLS AND ADMINISTRATIONS, 1674-1953
View catalog record

INDEX TO CECIL COUNTY, MARYLAND, WILLS, 1674-1777
View catalog record

H. Charles County

INDEX TO CHARLES COUNTY, MARYLAND, WILLS, 1658-1777
View catalog record

I. Dorchester County

INDEX TO DORCHESTER COUNTY, MARYLAND WILLS, 1669-1777
View catalog record

J. Frederick County

THE FREDERICK COUNTY, MARYLAND WILL INDEX, 1744-1946
View catalog record

FREDERICK COUNTY, MARYLAND, WILLS, 1744-1794
View catalog record

K. Garrett County

MARYLAND, INDEX TO THE WILLS OF: GARRETT COUNTY, 1872-1960; HARFORD COUNTY, 1774-1960
View catalog record

L. Harford County

HEIRS AND LEGATEES OF HARFORD COUNTY, MARYLAND, 1774-1802
View catalog record

HEIRS AND LEGATEES OF HARFORD COUNTY, MARYLAND, 1802-1846
View catalog record

M. Howard County

MARYLAND, INDEX TO THE WILLS OF: HOWARD COUNTY, 1840-1950; KENT COUNTY, 1642-1960
View catalog record

N. Kent County

ABSTRACTS OF KENT COUNTY, MARYLAND WILLS
View catalog record

INDEX TO KENT COUNTY, MARYLAND, WILLS, 1642-1777
View catalog record

MARYLAND, INDEX TO THE WILLS OF: HOWARD COUNTY, 1840-1950; KENT COUNTY, 1642-1960
View catalog record

ORPHANS, MINORS AND HEIRS OF KENT COUNTY, MARYLAND 1778-1812
View catalog record

O. Prince George's County

INDEX TO PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY, MARYLAND WILLS, 1695-1777
View catalog record

INDEX TO THE PROBATE RECORDS OF PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY, MARYLAND, 1996-1900
View catalog record

P. Queen Anne's County

INDEX TO QUEEN ANNE'S COUNTY, MARYLAND, WILLS
View catalog record

Q. St. Mary's County

GENERAL INDEX OF WILLS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY, MARYLAND, 1633-1900
View catalog record

INDEX TO ST. MARY'S COUNTY, MARYLAND, WILLS, 1634-1777
View catalog record

MARYLAND, INDEX TO THE WILLS OF: ST. MARY'S COUNTY, 1662-1960; SOMERSET COUNTY, 1664-1955
View catalog record

ST. MARY'S COUNTY, MARYLAND WILLS
View catalog record

ST. MARY'S COUNTY, REGISTRY OF WILLS, ORPHANS COURT, ANNUAL VALUATIONS & ASSESSMENTS, 1780-1841
View catalog record

R. Somerset County

INDEX TO SOMERSET COUNTY, MARYLAND, WILLS, 1666-1777
View catalog record

OTHER WILLS IN THE PREROGATIVE COURT FOR SOMERSET AND WORCESTER COUNTIES, 1664-1775
View catalog record

SOMERSET COUNTY WILLS
View catalog record

S. Talbot County

INDEX TO TALBOT COUNTY, MARYLAND, WILLS, 1662-1777
View catalog record

TALBOT COUNTY, MARYLAND, INVENTORIES, 1777-1797
View catalog record

TALBOT COUNTY, MARYLAND, WILLS: LIBER JB-3 1777-1785
View catalog record

TALBOT COUNTY, MARYLAND, WILLS: LIBER JB-4 1785-1794
View catalog record

T. Washington County

DISTRIBUTION OF ESTATE ACCOUNTS, WASHINGTON COUNTY, MARYLAND, 1806-1816
View catalog record

WILLS OF WASHINGTON COUNTY, MARYLAND: AN INDEX, 1776-1890
View catalog record

U. Worcester County

INDEX TO WORCESTER COUNTY, MARYLAND, WILLS, 1742-1777
View catalog record

OTHER WILLS IN THE PREROGATIVE COURT FOR SOMERSET AND WORCESTER COUNTIES, 1664-1775
View catalog record

WORCESTER COUNTY, MARYLAND WILLS
View catalog record

WORCESTER COUNTY WILLS: WILL BOOK MH3, 1666-1742
View catalog record

III. Specific Families

OLD MARYLAND FAMILIES: A COLLECTION OF CHARTS COMPILED FROM PUBLIC RECORDS, WILLS, FAMILY BIBLES, TOMB INSCRIPTIONS, AND OTHER ORIGINAL SOURCES
View catalog record

IV. Outside of Maryland 

A. New Hampshire

PROBATE RECORDS OF THE PROVINCE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE ... 1635-[1771]
View catalog record

B. Pennsylvania

RECORD OF PROCEEDINGS IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE UNITED STATES FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA: IN THE CASE OF GIRARD AND OTHERS VS. THE MAYOR, ALDERMEN,AND CITIZENS OF PHILADELPHIA: INCLUDING THE WILL OF STEPHEN GIRARD, THE ACCOUNTS OF THE EXECUTORS, SHOWING THE WHOLE OF HIS ESTATE ...
View catalog record

C. Virginia

ABSTRACTS OF WILLS, INVENTORIES, AND ADMINISTRATION ACCOUNTS OF FREDERICK COUNTY, VIRGINIA, 1743-1800: WITH CEMETERY INSCRIPTIONS, RENT ROLLS, AND OTHER DATA
View catalog record

THE DOUGLAS REGISTER, BEING A DETAILED RECORD OF BIRTHS, MARRIAGES AND DEATHS TOGETHER WITH OTHER INTERESTING NOTES, AS KEPT BY THE REV. WILLIAM DOUGLAS, FROM 1750 TO 1797.  AN INDEX OF GOOCHLAND WILLS.  NOTES ON THE FRENCH HUGUENOT REFUGEES WHO LIVED IN MANAKIN-TOWN
View catalog record

VIRGINIA SETTLERS AND ENGLISH ADVENTURERS; ABSTRACTS OF WILLS, 1484-1798, AND LEGAL PROCEEDINGS, 1560-1700, RELATING TO EARLY VIRGINIA FAMILIES. WITH AN ADDED PREF. TO THE AMERICAN ED.
View catalog record

VIRGINIA WILLS AND ADMINISTRATIONS, 1632-1800: AN INDEX OF WILLS RECORDED IN LOCAL COURTS OF VIRGINIA, 1632-1800, AND OF ADMINISTRATIONS ON ESTATES SHOWN BY INVENTORIES OF THE ESTATES OF INTESTATES RECORDED IN WILL (AND OTHER) BOOKS OF LOCAL COURTS, 1632-1800
View catalog record

VIRGINIA WILLS BEFORE 1799, A COMPLETE ABSTRACT REGISTER OF ALL NAMES MENTIONED IN OVER SIX HUNDRED RECORDED WILLS, ARRANGED ALPHABETICALLY FROM ADAMS TO WRIGHT. COPIED FROM THE COURT HOUSE RECORDS OF AMHERST, BEDFORD, CAMPBELL, LOUDOUN, PRINCE WILLIAM AND ROCKBRIDGE COUNTIES
View catalog record 1958 edition  1981 edition

WILLS AND ADMINISTRATIONS OF ELIZABETH CITY COUNTY, VIRGINIA, 1688-1800, WITH OTHER GENEALOGICAL AND HISTORICAL ITEMS
View catalog record

WILLS AND ADMINISTRATIONS OF SOUTHAMPTON COUNTY, VIRGINIA, 1749-1800
View catalog record

WILLS AND ADMINISTRATIONS OF SURRY COUNTY, VIRGINIA, 1671-1750
View catalog record

D. West Virginia

WILLS OF JEFFERSON COUNTY, WEST VIRGINIA: AN INDEX, 1801-1899
View catalog record

V. Miscellaneous

ANCIENT, CURIOUS AND FAMOUS WILLS
View catalog record View on-line in the library only

WHERE THERE'S A WILL: A COLLECTION OF WILLS, HILARIOUS, INCREDIBLE, BIZARRE, WITTY, SAD
View catalog record

 




Updated: October 6, 2008




Maryland State Law Library
Robert C. Murphy Courts of Appeal Building
361 Rowe Blvd.  Annapolis, MD. 21401
Phone: 410.260.1430 | Toll Free in MD. 1.888.216.8156 | Fax 410.260.1572
Open to the public
Mon, Wed, Fri 8:00 am to 4:30 pm | Tue and Thu 8:00 am to 9:00 pm | Sat 9:00 am to 4:00 pm
lawlibrary@mdcourts.gov


Maryland's People's Law Library | Maryland Judiciary | Courts of Appeals and Special Appeals | Circuit Courts | District Courts