Flag
Maryland State Law Library Home Page

Table of Contents

Cemeteries

Data Sources

Death Certificates

Law and Genealogy

Memorials

Links

Obituaries

Wills




Legal Self Help from the Maryland's Peoples Law Library
People's Law Library
Sponsored by
the Maryland State Law Library

Genealogy Guide:

Death Certificates and Death Record Compilations - included in the MD State Law Library collection.

I. Death Certificate “How To”

OBTAINING STATE DEATH CERTIFICATES: STATE REQUIREMENTS FOR THE RELEASE OF DEATH CERTIFICATES TO NATIONAL DEATH INDEX USERS
View catalog record

NATIONAL DEATH INDEX USER'S MANUAL
View catalog record

WHERE TO WRITE FOR VITAL RECORDS

II. War-Related or Veteran Deaths

ROLL OF HONOR: NAMES OF SOLDIERS WHO DIED IN DEFENSE OF THE AMERICAN UNION, INTERRED IN THE NATIONAL CEMETERIES: NUMBERS I-VI
View catalog record

ROLL OF HONOR; NAMES OF SOLDIERS WHO DIED IN DEFENSE OF THE AMERICAN UNION, INTERRED IN THE NATIONAL [AND OTHER] CEMETERIES
View catalog record

RECORDS RELATING TO PERSONAL PARTICIPATION IN WORLD WAR II: AMERICAN MILITARY CASUALTIES AND BURIALS
View catalog record

HISTORICAL RECORD OF THE FIRST REGIMENT MARYLAND INFANTRY, WITH AN APPENDIX CONTAINING A REGISTER OF THE OFFICERS AND ENLISTED MEN, BIOGRAPHIES OF DECEASED OFFICERS, ETC. WAR OF THE REBELLION, 1861-65
View catalog record

MARYLAND VETERANS CEMETERY PROGRAM
View catalog record

REPORT TO THE GOVERNOR AND THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY ON WOMEN VETERANS MONUMENT
View catalog record

III. Mortality Schedules, Church Records, and Similar Death Records (listed by area)

A. Maryland Generally

STATE OF MARYLAND 1850 MORTALITY SCHEDULES: WHITE PERSONS WHO DIED DURING THE YEAR ENDING 1 JUNE 1850: 1860 MORTALITY SCHEDULES: WHITE PERSONS WHO DIED DURING THE YEAR ENDING 1 JUNE 1860
View catalog record

MORTALITY SCHEDULES OF THE STATE OF MARYLAND, 1850-80
View catalog record

MARYLAND MORTALITIES, 1876-1915: FROM THE BALTIMORE SUN ALMANAC
View catalog record

B. Counties & Regions

1. Eastern Shore

EASTERN SHORE MORTALITY SCHEDULE, 1870
View catalog record

MORTALITY SCHEDULE OF THE EASTERN SHORE OF MARYLAND, 1880
View catalog record

MARYLAND EASTERN SHORE VITAL RECORDS
View catalog record

2. Northern Maryland

QUAKER RECORDS OF NORTHERN MARYLAND: BIRTHS, DEATHS, MARRIAGES, AND ABSTRACTS FROM THE MINUTES, 1716-1800
View catalog record

3. Southern Maryland

QUAKER RECORDS OF SOUTHERN MARYLAND: BIRTHS, DEATHS, MARRIAGES, AND ABSTRACTS FROM THE MINUTES, 1658-1800
View catalog record

METHODISM THROUGH FAMILY LINEAGE: INCLUDING BAPTISM, MARRIAGES, DEATHS & EARLY TRUSTEE AND PROBATIONARY RECORDS OF THE FOLLOWING CHURCHES LOCATED IN SOUTHERN MARYLAND: BETHEL, LEONARDTOWN, JOY CHAPEL, MT. ZION
View catalog record

4. Anne Arundel County

INDEXES, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880 MORTALITY SCHEDULES: ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY, MARYLAND
View catalog record

5. Baltimore City

BALTIMORE CITY DEATHS AND BURIALS, 1834-1840
View catalog record

VITAL RECORDS OF THE FIRST INDEPENDENT CHURCH (NOW FIRST UNITARIAN CHURCH) BALTIMORE, MARYLAND, 1818-1921
View catalog record

6. Baltimore County

QUAKER RECORDS OF BALTIMORE AND HARFORD COUNTIES, MARYLAND, 1801-1825: BIRTHS, DEATHS, MARRIAGES, REMOVALS, AND ABSTRACTS FROM THE MONTHLY MINUTES
View catalog record

ST. THOMAS PARISH DEATHS AND BURIALS: OWINGS MILLS, MARYLAND, 1728-1995
View catalog record

7. Calvert County

CALVERT CO. MARYLAND DEATH RECORD, 1898-1921 [I.E. 1898-1932]
View catalog record

DEATH INDEX OF ST. MARY'S, CHARLES AND CALVERT COUNTIES MARYLAND, 1898 THROUGH 1923
View catalog record

CALVERT CO. FUNERAL HOME JOURNALS 1885-1944
View catalog record

8. Caroline County

ACCORDING TO THE CHURCH: BIRTHS, DEATHS, & MARRIAGES FOR KENT, QUEEN ANNE, TALBOT & CAROLINE COUNTIES
View catalog record

9. Charles County

DEATH INDEX OF ST. MARY'S, CHARLES AND CALVERT COUNTIES MARYLAND, 1898 THROUGH 1923
View catalog record

10. Dorchester County

DEATHS IN DORCHESTER COUNTY, MARYLAND
View catalog record

11. Harford County

QUAKER RECORDS OF BALTIMORE AND HARFORD COUNTIES, MARYLAND, 1801-1825: BIRTHS, DEATHS, MARRIAGES, REMOVALS, AND ABSTRACTS FROM THE MONTHLY MINUTES
View catalog record

12. Kent County

ACCORDING TO THE CHURCH: BIRTHS, DEATHS, & MARRIAGES FOR KENT, QUEEN ANNE, TALBOT & CAROLINE COUNTIES
View catalog record

13. Prince George's County

GLEANINGS FROM THE RECORDS OF THE FRANCIS GASCH'S SONS FUNERAL HOME, PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY, MARYLAND, 1860-1940
View catalog record

14. Queen Anne's County

ACCORDING TO THE CHURCH: BIRTHS, DEATHS, & MARRIAGES FOR KENT, QUEEN ANNE, TALBOT & CAROLINE COUNTIES
View catalog record

15. St. Mary's County

MARRIAGES AND DEATHS, ST. MARY'S COUNTY, MARYLAND, 1634-1900
View catalog record

DEATHS AND BURIALS IN ST. MARY'S COUNTY, MARYLAND
View catalog record

DEATH INDEX OF ST. MARY'S, CHARLES AND CALVERT COUNTIES MARYLAND, 1898 THROUGH 1923
View catalog record

ST. MARY'S COUNTY CORONERS INQUEST, 1821-1921
View catalog record

16. Talbot County

ACCORDING TO THE CHURCH: BIRTHS, DEATHS, & MARRIAGES FOR KENT, QUEEN ANNE, TALBOT & CAROLINE COUNTIES
View catalog record

IV. Other


Records

MINUTES IN REMEMBRANCE, 1925-1975: OFFICERS AND MEMBERS OF COUNCIL DECEASED 1925-1975
View catalog record

SUICIDE MORTALITY IN THE MARYLAND STATE PRISON SYSTEM, 1979 THROUGH 1987
View catalog record

V. Death-Related


Records for Areas Outside of Maryland

 

A. America Generally

AMERICAN VITAL RECORDS FROM THE GENTLEMAN'S MAGAZINE, 1731-1868
View catalog record

B. International

INTERNATIONAL VITAL RECORDS HANDBOOK
View catalog record

C. Connecticut

VITAL RECORDS OF BOLTON TO 1854 AND VERNON TO 1852 
View catalog record

VITAL RECORDS OF NEW HAVEN, 1649-1850
View catalog record

VITAL RECORDS OF NORWICH, 1659-1848
View catalog record

VITAL RECORDS OF WOODSTOCK, 1686-1854
View catalog record

GUIDE TO VITAL STATISTICS IN THE CHURCH RECORDS OF CONNECTICUT 
View catalog record

D. District of Columbia & Georgetown

ABSTRACTS OF THE NEWSPAPERS OF GEORGETOWN AND THE FEDERAL CITY, 1798-1799: ADVERTISEMENTS, INSOLVENT DEBTORS, NOTICES OF ESCAPED SERVANTS AND SLAVES, LETTERS AT THE POST OFFICES (GEORGETOWN AND THE FEDERAL CITY), MARRIAGES, DEATHS, STRAY HORSES AND COWS, SALES OF LAND IN AND AROUND THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA: AND SOME EARLY MAPS OF THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA
View catalog record

E. Maine

VITAL RECORDS OF BELFAST MAINE, TO THE YEAR 1892|
View catalog record

VITAL RECORDS OF BOWDION, MAINE, TO THE YEAR 1892
View catalog record

VITAL RECORDS OF OLD BRISTOL AND NOBLEBORO IN THE COUNTY OF LINCOLN, MAINE: INCLUDING THE PRESENT TOWNS OF BREMEN, DAMARISCOTTA, SOUTH BRISTOL, AND THE PLANTATION OF MONHEGAN
View catalog record

VITAL RECORDS OF FARMINGDALE, MAINE, TO THE YEAR, 1892
View catalog record

VITAL RECORDS OF GARDINER, MAINE, TO THE YEAR 1892
View catalog record

VITAL RECORDS OF HALLOWELL, MAINE, TO THE YEAR 1892
View catalog record

VITAL RECORDS OF LEBANON, MAINE, TO THE YEAR 1892
View catalog record

VITAL RECORDS OF PITTSTON, MAINE, TO THE YEAR 1892
View catalog record

VITAL RECORDS OF RANDOLPH, MAINE, TO THE YEAR 1892
View catalog record

VITAL RECORDS OF TOPSHAM, MAINE, TO THE YEAR 1892
View catalog record

VITAL RECORDS OF WEST GARDINER, MAINE, TO THE YEAR 1892
View catalog record

F. Massachusetts

A REPORT OF THE RECORD COMMISSIONERS CONTAINING BOSTON BIRTHS, BAPTISMS, MARRIAGES AND DEATHS, 1630-1699
View catalog record

A COPY OF THE RECORDS OF BIRTHS, MARRIAGES, AND DEATHS AND OF INTENTIONS OF MARRIAGE OF THE TOWN OF HANOVER, MASS., 1727-1857: AS RECORDED BY THE SEVERAL TOWN CLERKS FOR THE SAID TOWN OF HANOVER
View catalog record

AN ALPHABETICAL ABSTRACT OF THE RECORD OF DEATHS, IN THE TOWN OF DEDHAM, MASSACHUSETTS, 1844-1890
View catalog record

BOSTON BIRTHS, BAPTISMS, MARRIAGES, AND DEATHS, 1630-1699: BOSTON BIRTHS, 1700-1800
View catalog record

VITAL RECORDS OF ASHBURNHAM, MASSACHUSETTS: TO THE END OF THE YEAR 1849
View catalog record

VITAL RECORDS OF ACTON, MASSACHUSETTS: TO THE YEAR 1850
View catalog record

VITAL RECORDS OF AMESBURY, MASSACHUSETTS: TO THE END OF THE YEAR 1849
View catalog record

VITAL RECORDS OF THE TOWN OF FREETOWN, MASSACHUSETTS, 1686 THROUGH 1890
View catalog record

GENEALOGY OF RICHARD BAKER: BORN IN ENGLAND, DIED IN DORCHESTER, MASS., OCTOBER 25, 1689
View catalog record

G. New York

THE NEW YORK TIMES OBITUARIES INDEX
View catalog record

H. North Carolina

MARRIAGE AND DEATH NOTICES FROM RALEIGH REGISTER AND NORTH CAROLINA STATE GAZETTE, 1799-1825
View catalog record

MARRIAGE AND DEATH NOTICES IN RALEIGH REGISTER [AND] NORTH CAROLINA STATE GAZETTE, DAILY SENTINEL, RALEIGH OBSERVER, AND NEWS AND OBSERVER
View catalog record

I. Virginia & West Virginia

TIMESAVING AID TO VIRGINIA-WEST VIRGINIA ANCESTORS: A QUICK-AND-EASY GUIDE TO BIRTH, MARRIAGE, AND DEATH INFORMATION IN PUBLICATIONS CONCERNING COUNTY HISTORY, CHURCHES, AND THE FAMILIES OF RESIDENTS OF VIRGINIA AND WEST VIRGINIA
View catalog record




Updated: October 8, 2008




Maryland State Law Library
Robert C. Murphy Courts of Appeal Building
361 Rowe Blvd.  Annapolis, MD. 21401
Phone: 410.260.1430 | Toll Free in MD. 1.888.216.8156 | Fax 410.260.1572
Open to the public
Mon, Wed, Fri 8:00 am to 4:30 pm | Tue and Thu 8:00 am to 9:00 pm | Sat 9:00 am to 4:00 pm
lawlibrary@mdcourts.gov


Maryland's People's Law Library | Maryland Judiciary | Courts of Appeals and Special Appeals | Circuit Courts | District Courts