Flag
Maryland State Law Library Home Page


Gateway to MD Law

Library Catalog

Library Databases

Free Legal Research

MD Law Libraries

MD Code Research

How To Guides

Databases

The Maryland State Law Library has an extensive collection of legal databases. All databases below are available from the public computers. A selected number of database are available via the Library's WiFi connection.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Catalog | Legal Research | Journals | Forms | Historical | News | Maryland | Specialty

All the databases below are available to library patrons free of charge from the public access computers. Some databases are also available via the library's WiFi connection. By using these databases the user agrees to the publisher's terms of use.


Library Catalog

Search the Library's Catalog for books, ebooks, journals, ejounals, government publications, task force reports available at the Maryland State Law Library.


Online Legal Research

WestlawNext
Access via Library WiFi and public computers.* Limited seats.
Search for primary legal materials. Includes U.S. case law, codes and regulations.

Lexis Advance
Access via Library WiFi and public computers. Limited seats
Search for primary legal materials. Includes U.S. case law, codes and regulations.

HeinOnline
Availability: Library public computers, WiFi, Md. Judiciary Staff
Database of full-image, full-text legal journal articles from the Law Journal Library, Restatements, Uniform Laws and State Session Laws, Attorney General Opinions and Statutes and Reporters.

National Consumer Law Digital Library
Availability: Library public computers and WiFi
National Consumer Law Center treatises the areas of: debtor rights, warranties, consumer litigation, and credit & banking. Includes full-text along with supplemental pleadings, links to primary sources, practice tools. See Quick Reference for a list topics.

Nolo Books
Availability: Library public computers and WiFi
Legal Information Reference Center and links from the library catalog. Also see Nolo Maryland Laws & Legal Information Page,


Journals and Law Reviews

Law Review and Journal Portal
Universal Access
Search for all journals, both online and print owned by the library. Includes direct links to journals available online.

HeinOnline
Availability: Library public computers, WiFi, Md. Judiciary Staff
Database of full-image, full-text legal journal articles from the Law Journal Library.

Law Review Commons
Universal Access
The Law Review Commons contains over 75,000 articles from open-access law reviews with issues dating from 1904.

Index to Legal Periodicals Current and Retrospective
Availability: Library public computers, WiFi, Md. Judiciary Staff
Comprehensive coverage of U.S. legal periodicals from 1908 to present. Many articles available in full text.

LegalTrac
Availability: Library public computers, WiFi, Md. Judiciary Staff
Index of over 900 legal periodical titles, including journals, newspapers, and law reviews, as well as articles from over 1,000 additional business and general interest journal titles.


Legal Forms

Library policy prevents library staff from recommending forms; however, staff can assist with using the web sites and databases below or finding print forms from our extensive collection of form books.

Maryland Legal Forms from the Maryland People's Law Library
Availability: Universal Access
Links to the most commonly used forms from Maryland's District and Circuit Courts, Office of Register of Wills, and the U.S. Bankruptcy Court.

Maryland Judiciary Court Forms
Universal Access
Includes many court forms in the following ares: general law, civil law, criminal law, domestic violence, protective orders, peace orders. Also see Family Law Form Finder.

Forms and Pleadings from the National Consumer Law Center's Digital Library
Availability: Library public computers and WiFi
Forms and pleadings in the area of debtor rights, warranties, consumer litigation, and credit & banking.

Maryland Legal Forms from Gale/Cengage
Availability: Library public computers and WiFi
This commercial database contains a wide variety of sample Maryland state-specific legal forms.

Please note: All forms in "Maryland Legal Forms" are provided without any warranty, express or implied, as to their legal effect and completeness. The library staff suggests consulting the Maryland Rules when submitting forms to the court. Please use at your own risk. See Disclaimer and liability limitation.


Historical Legal Sources

Making of Modern Law
Availability: Library public computers, WiFi, Md. Judiciary Staff
Comprehensive full-text, full-image database of over 22,000 historical American and British legal treatises, published from 1800 to 1926.

LLMC Digital
Availability: Library public computers, WiFi, Md. Judiciary Staff
LLMC Digital includes scanned full-text access to many old reporters including Maryland reporters from 1658-1922 and MD AG Opinions 1917-1971.

Historical Sources from HeinOnline
Availability: Library public computers, WiFi, Md. Judiciary Staff

American Law Institute including Restatements
Attorney General Opinions
Code of Federal Regulations
English Reports
Federal Register
Session Law Library
Statutes at Large
Uniform Laws
U.S. Code


News Databases

Daily Record and Maryland News Sources
Availability: Library public computers, WiFi, Md. Judiciary Staff
Daily Record articles are embargoed for 2-weeks.

Baltimore Sun 1991-forward
Availability: Library public computers, WiFi, Md. Judiciary Staff

Historical News Databases

Baltimore Sun (1837-1989)
Availability: Library public computers, WiFi, Md. Judiciary Staff

Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988)
Availability: Library public computers, WiFi, Md. Judiciary Staff

Washington Post (1877-1998)
Availability: Library public computers, WiFi, Md. Judiciary Staff

Newspaper Archive
Availability: Library public computers and WiFi
Database of full-image content for hundreds of U.S. and international newspapers, from 1759 to present. Every newspaper in the archive is fully searchable by keyword and date. Included is the Annapolis Capital from 1887 through 2 years prior to the current year.


Maryland

MDEC Kiosk: Public Records Search
Availability: Library public computers
Search Maryland Court Electronic Records (MDEC) available in Odyssey. Have an account? Login to MDEC. Learn more at MDEC E-Filing Information.

Maryland Digital Collections
Universal Access
Search and browse an expanding list of Maryland "task force" reports, Maryland Rules Committee meeting minutes and agendas, MSBA Transactions, Proceedings of the Maryland Judicial Conference.

Maryland Legal Publications and Newsletters
Universal Access
Search newsletters, client alerts, articles and other publications on the web sites of Maryland's largest law firms.

Loading

Lexis File and Serve Parties in Baltimore Asbestos Litigation
3rd Public Computer Only
User Name: 260143048
Password: 170.99.246.48

Search newsletters, client alerts, articles and other publications on the web sites of Maryland's largest law firms.


Specialty

Oxford English Dictionary Online
Availability: Library public computers, WiFi, Md. Judiciary Staff
To cite the OED, click on the "cite" link top right. The Chicago citation format provides the info needed for Bluebook Rule 15.9 Electronic Media and Online Sources.

Bloomberg BNA Tax Management Portfolios
Availability: Selected library computers. See library staff.
Subscription includes: Tax Management Portfolios, US Income Portfolios, Estates Gifts & Trusts Portfolios w/ Journal, Foreign Income Portfolios w/ International Journal, Daily Tax Report Highlights, Federal and State Forms Weekly Report.




Updated: June 10, 2015

Key Resources:

How to Guides

Guide to Maryland Legislative History

Maryland Code Research




Maryland State Law Library
Robert C. Murphy Courts of Appeal Building
361 Rowe Blvd.  Annapolis, MD. 21401
Phone: 410.260.1430 | Toll Free in MD. 1.888.216.8156 | Fax 410.260.1572
Open to the public
Mon, Wed, Fri 8:00 am to 4:30 pm | Tue and Thu 8:00 am to 9:00 pm | Sat 9:00 am to 4:00 pm
lawlibrary@mdcourts.gov


Maryland's People's Law Library | Maryland Judiciary | Courts of Appeals and Special Appeals | Circuit Courts | District Courts